Click to enlarge

We loan because...
we care

About us
The University of the Punjab is the oldest and biggest University of Pakistan. The University of the Punjab was formally established with the convening of the first meeting of its Senate on October 14, 1882 at Simla. It was the fourth university to be established by the British colonial authorities on the Indian subcontinent (the first three universities were established by the British rulers at their initial strongholds of Calcutta, Bombay, and Madras). According to the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan, Punjab University is one of the top ranked universities in Pakistan.

The University of the Punjab came into existence as a result of a long drawn struggle of the people of Punjab after the Indian Mutiny in 1857. Prof Dr GW Leitner was the founder of the university. Contrary to the three previously established universities, which were only examining institutions, the University of the Punjab was both teaching as well as examining body right from beginning.

From its formation in 1882 until 1947, the University of the Punjab served the educational needs of the entire region of pre-partition Punjab and northern India. Mohindra College, Patiala was the first college of higher learning to affiliate with University of Punjab in 1882; followed by St. Stephen's College, Delhi. The partition of India in 1947 reduced the geographical jurisdiction of the university. The current Institute of Administrative Sciences was created in 1962.

Many major institutions that were previously affiliated to Punjab University have now become independent universities on their own, such as Government College University, Lahore and Medical and Engineering Colleges.

The University of Punjab has several campuses in Pakistan including:[7]
Allama Iqbal campus: Also known as the old campus, it is named after the great South Asian thinker and mystic poet Allama Muhammad Iqbal. The building has an Islamic architectural design and is located in the middle of Lahore.

Quaid-i-Azam campus: Also known as the New Campus, it is named after the name of the founding father of the Nation and is located 12 kilometres (7.5 mi) to the South of Allama Iqbal Campus. Spread over an area of 1,800 acres (7 km2) of lush green landscape, this campus is the center of academic and administrative activities of the University. A canal divides the academic blocks from the student lodgings.

Gujranwala campus: The campus has four disciplines i.e. Business Administration, Commerce, Law and Information Technology.

Khanspur campus: The summer campus is located at a height of about 7,000 ft (2,100 m) in the Himalayan range near Ayubia. This campus, in addition to providing research facilities, is also used as a recreational center for the faculty and the students.

Jhelum Campus: Opened in 2012. It offers studies relating to business, commerce,and computer science

University of the Punjab offers a program of studies at the
undergraduate, master of science, master of philosophy and doctoral levels. It also offers BS honors in subjects including software engineering, computer science, information technology, mathematics, physics, chemistry, statistics and environmental sciences. The university has about 25,000 full-time regular students and about 147,000 students in 434 affiliated colleges. With very few exceptions, these colleges offer a 2 year associate bachelors or 'bachelor pass' degree. The university acts as a certifying body for the autonomous colleges and administers and grades the final or end of degree exams for all graduates of these autonomous affiliated colleges, but does not participate in their day to day operation. All graduates of these autonomous affiliated colleges are awarded their degree by the University of Punjab. The university also has several thousand private students in the liberal arts. These study on their own and take examinations held by the university to qualify for their degrees. The University has conferred 100 doctorates annually in the last four years.

There are 14 faculties in the University with 10 constituent colleges, 63 departments, centers, and institutes. It has about 650 permanent faculty members involved in teaching/research:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Faculty of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Faculty of Commerce
Faculty of Economics and Management Sciences
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering & Technology
Faculty of Islamic Studies
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Life-Sciences
Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry
Faculty of Oriental Learning
Faculty of Pharmacy
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Business

Research and collaborations

The University is working alongside/collaborating with others globally and has articulation agreements with the following:

United States
Cornell University, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
San José State University.

United Kingdom
University of Manchester
University of Luton
University of Bedfordshire
University of Birmingham
University of Surrey
University of Bradford
University of Cambridge
University of Derby
University of Glasgow

Beijing University of Chemical Technology
City University of Hong Kong
Wuhan University, School of Foreign Languages and Literature
University People’s Republic of China
Sichuan University
Zhengzhou Medical University

Markaz Nashr-e-Miras-e-Maktoob
Ferdowsi University of Mashhad
University of Tehran, The Faculty of Foreign Languages
Tarbiat Modares University

Punjab University Library is one of the biggest libraries in universities of Pakistan. The library has more than 500,000 collection of books, magazines and periodicals. This collection is in nine different national and international languages and different types as print material, CDs, DVDs, Microfilms, Microfiches, Video and Audio Cassettes and Manuscripts. Punjab University Library has beautiful two storey building and total area of the building is 1,02,000 sq. feet. There are reading halls in both ground and 1st floor with approximately seating capacity of 2500 readers. The library has internet lab for the students to research according to the new technologies of 21st century. In the library there is computerized “WINISIS” catalogue for searching material.

A number of key people from various disciplines of life have studied at the university. The university has produced two Nobel Laureates namely Har Gobind Khorana and Dr. Abdus Salam.

Location: Lahore, Pakistan      


Latest Messages  

0 messages. Join the team to get in on the action!

Team Activity

This team has not made any loans in the past 90 days that are currently raising funds. Check back soon or make a loan!

Impact   Updated Hourly

Team Members
Amount Funded
Loans per member