A loan of $4,650 helped to cover higher education costs.


Miriel's story

Miriel is a young accounting student, and she is requesting a loan to be able to cover her education costs. This is her story:

I’m Miriel, I am 31 years old, I live in Hatillo San Critobal, to the south of the Dominica Republic. I was born and raised in the same province, I have a brother and a sister, I’m not married, and I am a single mother of two daughters. Sadly, my father passed away, and my mother works as a domestic employer in a family house (the same work I am doing now). My wish is to study accounting at the "Universidad del Caribe" (UNICARIBE) because it allows me to work and study, as it facilitates me being able to take classes one day a week with a schedule that doesn’t interfere with my work.

I chose this major because it was my dream when I was little. I love numbers, all the ones that have to do with accounts, and I also like business. I really have the need to request this loan because my income is not enough for all the economic costs that are required to study this major, and at the same time sustain my daughters. If I don’t manage to obtain this loan, sadly my dream will not come true. My daughters’ education will also be affected because everything that I do is so that they don’t go through what I have: not being able to finish my education when I had to, due to lack of economic resources from my parents.

My academic goals are to finish my major, and take classes that will help me strengthen and exercise it as a great professional, capable of working in the best companies of my country, providing the knowledge acquired.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Luisa Islas



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details