A loan of $1,500 helped to purchase ceramics, paint, brushes, adornments, and also fabric, down, thread, needs, and with the third part, flour and sugar.


Elsa Paola's story

Elsa is 32 years old, a single mother and has 2 children, Patrick, 11 years old, and Poleth, 7 years old. Five years ago, she decided to paint ceramics to sell them in the area. She also works making stuffed animals with different designs. And she also works selling cakes, which are sold quickly in the market, keeping their flavor and freshness. She is hard-working, humble, enterprising, and with her initiative, she has managed to cover basic household expenses. Her greatest advantage is spending more time with her children helping them with their homework. She wants to continue keeping her income, she needs to purchase with the first part, ceramics, paint, brushes, starch, lacquer, and adornments such as gemstones, and with another part, fabric, down, thread, needles, and leather, and with the third part, flour, sugar, and dairy cream, all in bulk and with this she will manage to maintain her businesses, get ahead, and pay for the basic expenses of her humble household. Her dreams are to have her own store, to build a house, and to educate her children so that they are good people in the future.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Wendy Harris.


This loan is special because:

It aims to reach vulnerable refugee populations in an isolated region.



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details