A loan of $300 helped car repair.


Miguel's story

Miguel is 41 years old and lives in his own home with his wife and their two children; Sheyly, who is 19 years old, and Yonat, who is 14. What he most desires is to give his children good higher education. When Miguel was 21 years old, he had to leave the university and look for a job because he didn't have enough money to continue his studies. After this he worked a variety of jobs and after trying many jobs he found the ideal one. Miguel feels happy being a taxi driver and he can't complain since this job gives him the money he needs to support his family. He has worked at this job for 10 years and he most likes the freedom that this job gives him, since he can calmly drive his taxi through the streets of Puno looking for customers. His least favorite part is fixing his car when there is something wrong with it. Miguel desires to have a more profitable business, maybe a restaurant or small grocery store, he still has not decided, but he does know that he has to work hard to achieve that. This is his first loan with MFP, he knows he has to repay it on time because he does not want to cause problems for the members of his community bank, of whom he is the only male and he feels he has the obligation to be very responsible. With the money he requests he will fix his car to be able to provide better service to his customers.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Emily Meinecke


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details