A loan helped a member to buy clay to make clay pots.


Las Orquideas Group's story

Ines is a 37 year old woman. She lives with her partner and has four children aged 8, 13, 15 y 17 years old. Her business is making pottery.

She is a good mother, independent and very enterprising. She does her business in the 'Cotoca’ area which is a rural zone that gathers all the produce for sale in the city.

Ines is dark-skinned, short in stature and physically robust. Her native language is Guaraní and she speaks Spanish. (In the photo she is the first on the right wearing the black sweater and a black purse). She shares her life with her partner who works in agriculture and her children who study at school. They live in their own house made of wood that only has electricity. It has no running water or sewage.

Her desire to improve her business led her to form a group of people with businesses such as: the sale of seeds, selling meat, selling vegetables, weaving straw hats, agriculture, a chicken business and selling second hand clothing.

Her business is making clay pots. She makes them from ceramic and forms them with pottery techniques."On cold days working with big pieces warms you up. Kneading, centering and lifting a few kilograms of clay gets you going" she commented. The advantage of her business is her wholesale sales and her disadvantage is the lack of capital to buy earth to fire more pots. Her dream is to have more clients and get an assistant. This is her first loan with the institution in the 10 years she has been in business.

For these reasons she is requesting a loan to buy clay to make clay pots.

In this group: Sus, Ysabel, Ines, Liceth, Rober Pedro, Kathleen, Raquel, Sarah Katherin

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer leonardo.



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details