A loan of $775 helped purchase construction materials.


Mario's story

Mario was born in Inhambane. He is 48 years old and married. He went to school through the 6th grade in the old system. He is the father of 5 children with ages between 6 months and 18 years old. The 4 oldest kids go to school.

Mario left Inhambane for Namaacha, a town on the border of Swaziland, with his oldest brother after having lost their parents. Having arrived in Namaacha he continued with his studies and completed the 6th grade. Years later he is employed in the TDM as a service operator of telecommunications. Today he has been a permanent employee for more than 15 years and earns a salary of 5,500MT working from 7am until 2pm on the morning shift and from 2pm until 10pm on the night shift.

He married his wife, and since living together with his brother was no longer agreeable he felt obligated to leave his brother's house and moved into a rental home while he builds his own home. Since he does not have sufficient funds to finish the work, he approached us and solicited a loan to finish his work. He is responsible for his sister in law and his brothers who live in Inhambane. He sends them 1,000MT every 4 months and is unable to save any money while his home is in construction.

This is Mario's second loan with Hluvuku and his first with Kiva. The first oan of 8,000MT was used to purchase chickens for resale. This time Mario intends to use the 20,000MT to purchase construction materials. Mario and his family live in their own home and he is confident that he can pay off the loan before the maturity date in order to request another loan.

Translated from Portuguese by Kiva volunteer


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details