Funded

Total loan: $500
Powered by 18 lenders

Maria De La Concepcion

Nicaragua
Leon, Nicaragua / Used Clothing

A loan of $500 helped purchase merchandise.


Maria De La Concepcion's story

Maria de la Concepcion P. D. is 59 years old, married, and has 2 children. Her eldest son is 15 years old and is in his third year of high school. Her youngest son is 7 years old and is in the third grade of elementary school. Her husband works for himself now because he has come down with an illness but they still need to retain the customers that provide the family with their main source of income. Now, he is fighting to recover and it is difficult to return to work. Still, he is thinking about the future and hopes to save enough money for retirement and to better provide for his household.

Dona Maria has been running a business selling second-hand clothing and cosmetics out of their home for 8 years, and also traveling to visit customers. She first started the business to help generate more income for the family. She specifically decided to sell second-hand clothing since she did not know what type of work she could do after she was previously a pork butcher. They previously owned a small store, but they could not continue running the store while his illness required him to stay in bed. Since she knew they still had to provide for the children, she began searching for other work. She decided to sell second-hand clothing such as shirts and pants. Since men started coming to the house to purchase pants, she decided to expand the business by traveling and selling on certain streets to earn more money. The money she is requesting in the loan will be used to make necessary investments to buy additional merchandise for her business to meet the demand of the customers.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Josh Wilcox



Loan details

Loan length:

13 months
Disbursed date: February 5, 2009

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

13 months
Disbursed date: February 5, 2009