A loan of $575 helped to increase her merchandise.


Carmen's story

Carmen is 34 years old. She has lived with her partner for more than 10 years. They have 3 children, now they live with only one of them while the other two children study in another city. For the moment, they live in the house of her mother, they don’t have a house of their own. For the past 10 years she has worked selling sweets. All this time this activity has been profitable, and has permitted her to educate her children and cover the expenses of the household. At this time the business is for her eldest daughter Nayeli. Her husband works transporting passengers in his motorcar, and it has been two years since Carmen decided to go to the park in the city to sell popsicles and ice-cream. She sells from 10am until 6 or 7 at night, if it is hot she will remain later, and also offer bags of popcorn.

Since she was very young she has worked as a businesswoman. Her parents sold in an open air market, and since then, for her the work in the streets has been the most gratifying. The income that she gets, apart from sustaining the household, has paid for the studies of her son in an institution in another city, the housing he rents, and his daily sustenance. At the moment Carmen is very aggrieved by the illness of her father. She tries to give him all the medicine he needs so he can recover, and her happiness would be complete. In the past Circle she was the secretary of her community bank. This is her second loan with MFP and she continues with the same amount to repay her instalments on fixed dates. The sum that she is asking for is to buy sweets, 500 soles that she will loan to her husband so he will be able to buy new wheels for his motorcar, and finally with the rest of the money she will buy yogurt to make her popsicles and ice-cream.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jessica Kaminsky


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details