A loan helped to cover the cost of a degree so that he can get his professional title.


Juan Bautista's story

Juan is a 38-year-old man, he is single, has no children, and is studying law. He is smart, enterprising, optimistic, caring, responsible, and hard-working. He goes to school at the public university. It is located in the "16 de julio" area, which is known for informal trade and is where you can find everything from a sewing needle to a tractor for plowing. It has a cold and dry climate (2ºC -12ºC), and is at an average altitude of 3,800 meters above sea level.

Juan has a dark complexion, short black hair, and dark eyes; and he is short and thin. His native language is Aymará, which he speaks at home, but he speaks Spanish for everyday use and at school. He lives at home with his parents who do not work because they are older. They live in their own brick house that has potable water, electricity, gas, and sewage. He goes to school at the public university and is studying law so that later he will have the ability to adapt his work performance to the constant changes occurring in legal, political, social, financial, and technological matters. At the same time, he works as an administration technician.

"My goal is to finish my second occupation and work in order to help my family," he says. His dream is to finish school and work in the field in order to generate greater income and help his family with their expenses. This is his first loan cycle with the institution in the 14 years that he has been carrying out this work. For these reasons, Juan asks for a loan in order to cover the costs of a degree so that he can get his professional title.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Stephanie Sawyer.



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details