A loan of $1,700 helped to pay for her biochemistry and pharmaceutical decree.


Gabriela Zunilda's story

Gabriela is a young woman aged 23, who was born in La Paz, Bolivia. She is single and lives with her mother, stepfather and two sisters.

Gabriela says that she never had her father's support, however, she had a very happy childhood living with her maternal grandparents. Some time later, everything changed when her grandmother passed away. Her and the rest of her family went to live in Peru for three years and she started school there, where she was a remarkable and outstanding student.

They later returned to Bolivia at her grandfather's request and her mother set up her own business, which was the main source of household income. They had family problems and their income wasn't sufficient, so Gabriela began working at weekends as a waitress to pay for school and help her family.

When she finished school, Gabriela decided to study a biochemistry and pharmaceutical degree. Despite everything that happened before, she feels fortunate and believes that when she gets her degree everything will improve.

Her dream is to become a professional and specialise in a particular field with the aim of moving forwards and supporting her family financially. Gabriela is grateful to those who, through their economic resources, will allow her to finish her studies and in this way, achieve her goals.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Chloe Pilpel



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details