Funded

Total loan: $1,500
Powered by 49 lenders

Blanca Nelly

El Salvador
Osicala, El Salvador / Livestock

A loan of $1,500 helped to buy two cows.


Blanca Nelly's story

Blanca is 37 years old and has done housework since she was a child. She studied up to grade 3 only, as with the limited resources of her parents, they could not support her. She is married and her husband works doing housework. They have three children, the oldest being 20 years old. He is studying in secondary school but only on weekends as he works from Monday to Friday. The second is 18 and she is in her third year of high school. The youngest as 16 and is in Grade 9. Only her children and husband are dependent on her.

Blanca has worked doing housework since she was a child, her mother taught her. She also works in the fields growing corn and beans, which her father taught her. She also raises and sells livestock. She is very hard-working and responsible in the work she is doing and in caring for the family. She works from morning to night.

Blanca needs the loan to buy two cows which are of good milking race which are being sold at a good price. She wants to take advantage of the opportunity to buy them and feed them lots of grass so when she goes to sell them she will realize a good profit.

She dreams of seeing her children graduate from university and have a better quality of life to what she had as a child. She hopes they become good people with stable employment and good income. She hopes to have the strength to continue to work and fulfil her plans which are to make improvements on her house and enjoy better living conditions.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer leonard delaney



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: July 17, 2014

Lenders and lending teams




Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: July 17, 2014