A loan of $1,000 helped to purchase four pigs, cornmeal, animal feed, other products for the pigs, manure, and other fertilizers to grow corn and beans.


Manuel De Jesús's story

Manuel is 66 years old. He is the father of 7 children and currently cares for two of them, plus one grandchild. His other five children live independently with their own families in the same community where he currently lives. He is originally from a village close to where he currently lives. He had to leave because he was once robbed of everything, and decided to move with his family. His wife is a homemaker and helps with agricultural work.

Manuel attended school until first grade and had to leave school because the area where he lived was one of the areas affected most by the civil war at that time.

Manuel makes a living by growing staple crops (corn, beans, and sorghum), which he learned from his older brother. These crops are the ones grown the most in the eastern part of the country. He learned to plant these crops when he was 8 years old when his parents began to take him to the fields. He decided to grow grains in order to provide food for his family. He also works in the afternoons as a caretaker at a home in order to earn additional income for his family. He also raises pigs and chickens to sell in the community. His children always help to care for the crops. Previously, he grew sugar cane and agave.

Manuel requests a loan from the institution to purchase four pigs, cornmeal, animal feed, other products to care for his pigs, manure, and fertilizer for his corn and bean crops.

Manuel dreams of purchasing land to build a better home, since he currently lives in a very small bahareque home (wattle and daub home). This wayk, he will give his family a better quality of life.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Meghan Rishel



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details