A loan of $200 helped to buy wood, hammers, and a drill, to enable him to carry out his work better.

Mario Alexander's story

Mario is 24 years old. He studied as far as high school, but could not continue to university as he decided to work to support his family financially, and because of their situation he was not able to continue studying. He is single and has a one-year-old daughter who lives with him. He, his daughter, and his mother make up their household.

Mario earns his living as a carpenter. He decided to establish his small workshop as he had worked in a carpenter's workshop and gained experience. He earned a qualification that accredits him to have his own workshop, where he has two years' experience. Mario comments that, as he has the workshop in his home, he does not have fixed working hours, and sometimes works into the night when he has a lot of work.

He is requesting a loan in order to buy wood, hammers, and a drill, to enable him to carry out his work better. He hopes to open another workshop and to be able to employ staff to work there.

In the future, Mario wishes to have a well-renowned carpentry workshop, and to have more branches. These will help him to maintain his family financially. He wishes his daughter to be able to study for a degree so that she can support herself in the future, and he mentions that he too hopes to continue with his university studies so that he and his family can have a better future.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eloise Phipps

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details