A loan of $675 helped purchase corn seeds, manure, fertilizers, and prepare the land for the new planting season.

José Mauricio's story

José is 41 years old, and he has a 9th grade education. He got married at 25 years old, and he has two children with his wife. His wife is a homemaker, and they are very humble and hardworking people. They live in a simple but very orderly home. His wife is the one who takes care of the household work. They have chickens, therefore whenever they want eggs, they do not have to purchase them, they just have to go pick them up, which is a great way to save. Both of their children attend school, and no one else lives with them.

He is a potter, and works making all kinds of material from the earth (adobe, tiles, bricks, etc.). He also takes care of three cows, which also help him reduce many of his household expenses. He also works in agriculture, where he is able to obtain everything that they consume at home. His work is near his home, therefore he does not need a vehicle. He works from 6am to noon.

He plans on purchasing corn seeds, manure, fertilizers, and preparing the land for the new planting season since the rains are coming soon. The need that will be satisfied by this loan is having the money to start this work. His dream is for his children to prepare themselves in school and to be able to get them ahead through the sacrifices that he must make to put his children through school. He hopes that his children will be prepared to one day be able to help him in his old age. He will achieve all of this with God's blessings and his effort. The earnings from his business will be used to pay back the loan and to continue working.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Roberto Henry

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details