A loan of $1,000 helped purchase more milk.


Haydee Yamires's story

Haydee is 42 years old. She studied until the third grade. Her partner, who she has been with for 23 years, works in agriculture. Together they have 3 children, one of which lives on their their own with their partner, and two of which live at home and are in secondary education. In their free time they help their father carry out agricultural work in the home where only four people live.

Haydee sells dairy products such as cheese and milk, which she buys and then resells. In this way she makes a profit, generates income, and helps her husband with household expenses. She has been working in this business for about 23 years. Her father taught her the trade and developed their business in the town near their home. They traveled 23 kilometers by bus every day in order to sell their products. She works for 6 hours a day.

The loan will be invested in the purchase of milk, which is where she gets her cheese and curds to sell. The loan will help her improve her sales, as she will have more products to sell and thus she will improve her income.

Her main dream is seeing her children complete a college education, as she herself was not able to do so. At the same time, she wants to improve her business by placing a stall in the town where she can establish a formal business. For the future, Haydee wishes to continue working with her family and to continue growing her business by purchasing more supplies for sales.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Sarah Varney



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details