A loan of $3,925 helped to cover the costs of higher education.

Charles Denicherts's story

Charles is studying Education with a concentration in Mathematics, and he needs a loan in order to be able to complete his degree.

Here is his story: My name is Charles, and I’m 38 years old. I was born in the city of Azua in the municipality of Padre de las Casas, in the southern part of the Dominican Republic, and currently l live in El Seíbo, which is in the East. I am married and I have 5 children—2 boys and 3 girls. I’m the oldest of 4 brothers, and my parents worked very hard to give me the best education that they were able. My father is a farmer and my mother is a nurse.

I began my studies at O&M University with a degree in Mathematics—I realize that I have had numerical abilities since I was young—but I am unable to pay for them. It has been difficult for me to make the monthly payments, and at this time I cannot continue paying for my program, as I do not have sufficient resources; and without approval for this loan it will be impossible for me to complete my degree. If it is approved, it would be very important for me, as it would change my life and that of my family, and I would be able to give my children a better quality of life.

I dream of being a mathematics professor in my city, in order to leave a legacy to my children and to my students. Then, I will continue preparing myself in order to keep improving the methodology for the teaching of mathematics in the classroom, so that students will look at math as a game instead of a problem.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eleanora Brennan

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details