A loan of $1,500 helped to buy furniture for the house and to consolidate a debt they acquired when they bought their cows.

María Dora's story

María is 47 years old. She is the mother of 1 daughter and two sons. She is a homemaker. She works to keep her home as clean as possible because she looks after the health and nutrition of her children and grandchildren.

María grew up with her grandmother, who was a homemaker. Her grandfather worked in agriculture, which he did for his whole life and it served him to provide for his family. With the passage of time, María got married and she and her husband had 3 children. One daughter and one son live with their partners and the youngest is studying in eighth grade in the local school.

María has 35 years of experience in taking care of the household for her family. This is an activity she learned from her grandmother, who was a woman who dedicated her life to this activity and who taught her good principles and values, which have now led to her being a good and successful person for her family and her community. One of her sources of income is the sale of dairy products that she herself makes since her husband owns two milk cows. Her youngest son helps her with this business. He is responsible for caring for the cows. Her main source of income is the remittances that are sent by her children and her husband.

The money will be used to buy furniture for the house and to consolidate debt they acquired when they bought the cows.

María’s plan for the future is to support the education of her son and her grandchildren until they become professionals. She explains that her youngest son wants to study to be an agricultural specialist in the national university.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jennifer Day

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details