Funded

Total loan: $1,500
Powered by 55 lenders

Juana Alejandrina


A loan of $1,500 helped to buy fertilizer and manure in order to care for her coffee crops.


Juana Alejandrina's story

Juana is 24 years old. She is the second daughter of seven children and because of this her parents could only support her studies through primary school, and she is grateful for their assistance. She has worked since she was very young growing coffee, corn, and beans.

When she was 16 years old she married her current husband (Marcos) and they have two children, a boy 4 years old and a 2 year old. Currently her husband grows rice, corn, beans, and with her help they work hard on their crops. She has 8 years of experience in various types of fieldwork as this is the source of income to cover the necessities for her family and home. They are renting their land and it is located about 3 kilometers from where she lives and she travels by walking or by riding an animal.

Juana dreams of being able to educate her children, of planting more coffee plants, and being able to increase the amount she has so she can obtain higher income for her family as in that way she could cover other needs such as repairing her home, securing the future of her children and eventually having her own plot, which is why Juana is asking for help in order to buy fertilizer, manure, and more in order to maintain her coffee crop and to protect the harvest.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Gail LeGrand



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: March 14, 2014

Lenders and lending teams




Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: March 14, 2014