A loan of $1,000 helped to harvest his crops and transport them to his house.


Salvador De Jesús's story

Salvador is 46 years old. He did not have the opportunity to study. He is in a common-law marriage, and his life partner dedicates herself to domestic work. He has five children, of whom three are in school, and the other two have already formed their own households. Thus, only 3 children and his partner are dependent on him.

Agricultural work is the activity to which Salvador dedicates himself. He has done this work since he was 13 years old. He learned this work from his father, who always wanted to make sure that his children would learn a profession so that they could support themselves through work in the future. Salvador has to walk for 10 minutes to reach his fields. His spouse is also involved, and she helps him as much as she can. He works on a schedule of 6:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

He needs the loan he is requesting to harvest his crops and take them to his house, since they work with improved seeds which an institution gives them to plant. When they come back with the grains, they pay them a good price, but to get this, he needs to pay someone to transport the corn to his house in a wagon, and he also needs to pay for a machine to take the kernels off the corn. In addition, he needs a person to help him harvest the beans and later to choose good seeds to take to this institution. This loan will help him a lot, since he and his spouse alone cannot do all this work.

He says that he hopes that "God will grant him life" to keep cultivating the land and have the means to support his household, since his earnings are what is left after he sells his crops.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Patricia Linderman



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details