A loan of $1,900 helped to buy fabric and make pants.


Jorge's story

Jorge is a client of Kubo Financiero:

My name is Jorge, I’m 29, and I’ve been married for four years. My wife’s name is Maria Luisa and she works in customer services. We haven’t got any children and we live in my parents’ house free of charge. I have been making pants for ten years.

I want to buy material for an order that a customer from Colima has placed with me. This customer has been working with me for five years. She orders from me and I send her the goods. When she receives them, she starts to pay me in installments, every 20 days, completing payment two months from the date of delivery. It takes me about three months to finish producing the clothes and the investment comes mainly from me. She only pays me for the assembly work as this is paid in cash. I would like a long term agreement so I don’t feel under pressure as I’m waiting to get paid. As a result, I won’t be in a difficult position and I will have the option to pay off the debt early. I am a good payer, I like to keep my options open in these situations and have support.

I have been making denim pants for women and girls for ten years on my own. I make and sell them in Toluca and Moroleon, in addition to the aforementioned client in Colima. I get stock in the centre, and I use my truck to transport the material. My workshop is located in my house and I have three workers, in addition to my wife, who helps me in her free time. I learnt this trade 15 years ago and I have been an independent worker for ten.

My main achievement has been building my business, buying a car and paying for my wedding. My main aim is to buy my own home to live independently.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Matthew Walker



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details