A loan of $750 helped to purchase a calf.

Juan Carlos's story

Juan is 36 years old, and he has studied up to the sixth grade. He married at the age of twenty-five, and he and his wife have two children. His wife is a homemaker—she is in charge of the housework. His two children live with him; the oldest is going into the ninth grade and the little one is going into the fourth. No one else lives with them.

He is a farmer, an occupation in which he has been engaged for more than twenty years; his father taught him at an early age that life is only well-lived if it is lived honorably. He also helps out when people look to him for assistance with their work. The distance he travels varies, as he doesn’t always go to the same place. He sells part of his harvest and keeps the rest for consumption. He works alone, from 6:00 a.m. to 12 noon.

The loan that he is requesting is for the purchase of a calf, with which he will be able to improve his assets, increase production, have more income for his home, and take a step toward developing himself and his family.

His wish is that his children grow up with an education, and that he will be able to support them through the sacrifices that he is making in order to keep them in school. He hopes that they will prepare themselves, so that one day they will be the ones who help him in his old age. With God’s blessing, and his own efforts, he will achieve all of this.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eleanora Brennan

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details