A loan of $200 helped purchase more merchandise (women's and men's underwear, blouses, pants, shorts, etc.).


Marilú Elizabeth's story

Marilú is 36 years old. She studied until ninth grade. She is happily married, and her husband works as a bus driver for a public intercity service. Currently, he is not working because he had some severe problems with gastritis and has been at home under medication. Therefore, she has taken all of the household responsibility. She has two children who are in school. The youngest is in second grade and the other one is in his first year of high school. All four of them live together in a house that they inherited.

Marilú works selling clothing door-to-door. She orders from large distributors located in the center of the city. She started this business when her last child was born since they now had more mouths to feed. Previously, she worked selling dairy products, but the earnings were not enough to support the family. Therefore, when she was pregnant the second time, she reflected and decided to start her own business.

The loan she is seeking is to purchase more merchandise (men's and women's underwear, blouses, pants, shorts, etc.). Now in the summer season, the demand increases and she can increase her earnings. Marilú dreams of having a better home where they can live more comfortably. She also aspires to expand her business so that she can have a fixed spot in the market, and in so doing, give her family a dignified quality of life.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Roberto Henry



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details