A loan of $500 helped to buy construction materials.

Daniel Francisco's story

Daniel was born in Inhambane and is 30 years old. He is married and the father of a 14-month old daughter. In addition to his daughter he also provides for his wife - who is still finishing school - and a nephew who is also attending school. He moved to Namaacha - a village on the border of Swazilandia - for his job.

Daniel began working after finishing 7th grade at the Matola in Maputo School, but he continued his studies in evening classes after work. After graduating he was asked to move to Namaacha where he still works as a full-time Administrative Technician from 7:30AM - 3:30PM, earning a monthly salary of 3,283MT. He also provides financial help to his mother who lives in Inhambane, sending her 500MT each month. In 2005 the school offered him land to build his house, but since he has so many expenses he only built the foundation of the house. He heard about Hluvuku's services through friends and colleagues and decided to request a loan.

This is his first loan with Hluvuku and Kiva in the amount of 12,000MT to buy construction materials and resume the building of his house. Once he's done repaying this loan he plans to take out additional loans to continue with the construction of the house as he is aware that this first loan will only allow him to begin construction due to the increasing costs of building materials.

Translated from Portuguese by Kiva volunteer

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details