A loan of $1,000 helped to buy a pair of bulls to work his fields, drag the land, and bring his produce home.


Joaquín Alejandro's story

Twenty-one-year-old Joaquín has a ninth grade education. He is single and lives in his grandmother's house with four other people; two brothers who work in farming and a sister who works in housekeeping for a living. There are only two people who are dependent on him, his grandmother and a sister who is a minor.

He works in farming and livestock. He started learning this profession 15 years ago. He has been doing this work since he was very small and he liked livestock, which is why he is still doing this work today. Joaquín does other work, such as day labor and growing vegetables, which provide him with more income to better support his family. His work is close to his home; he covers 15m to get there, which allows him to work eight or nine hours a day.

The loan he is requesting is to buy a pair of bulls to work his agricultural fields, drag the land, and bring his produce home, as he currently does not have this work tool. This client has two heifers that produce milk and food, but he does not have a team of bulls to improve the farming work he does.

His dreams for his business are to produce better harvests each year to support his grandmother and to work together with his brothers, and he dreams of one day having his own family and children. Currently he wants to better himself so that when he has his family he will be able to offer them a more respectable life. This loan will help him get a work tool so he can better carry out his work. He hopes to expand his work by planting more produce so he will have a bigger yield and more earnings.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Alyson Trowbridge



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams




Loan details