A loan of $500 helped to build a small home.

José Rigoberto's story

Jose is 27 years old. He is a hardworking man despite having only studied until the 6th grade due to his financial situation. He tries to look for ways to obtain income in order to support his family, which is composed of his mother, two sisters, and one brother. He also supports them through his hard work. In his free time he works on agriculture projects that his siblings develop; he previously worked in agro-service. Nowadays he makes a living providing security services to the military detachment.

Jose has also worked in agriculture and knows how difficult it is to make the necessary income in that line of work. Due to this, it is taking a long time to make sufficient income. Because of that he was motivated to look for a more stable source of income; he was able to find agro-service work, in which he worked for three years until he decided to lend his services to security inside the military detachment. He has been working there for eight months and is receiving a more stable income.

This loan will help the borrower be able to begin building a small home, which will help both him and his family; it will also help in the future when he starts his own family.

Jose wants a future in which he can build his own respectable house where he can start a family and give them a good quality of life, having a well-supplied and furnished house.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Zachary Kahn

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details