A loan helped build a wall around the perimeter of the property where her house is.

Doris Esmeralda's story

Doris is 39 years old and only reached 7th grade due to the death of her father and her mother not being able to support her through the end of her education and needed her help with work. Her husband works in agriculture. Of her three children, only the youngest daughter lives with them, she is in 5th grade. Doris has worked selling clothing for the past 18 years, but a year ago she started her own business selling fruits and vegetables. She knows both businesses well because after her father died, her mother taught her how to work in both fields, which is how she learned how to sell products.

The places where she sells are 5 kilometers away. She travels by bus; everyday she wakes up at 4:30am in order to prepare breakfast for her husband and daughters. She then goes out to sell, and returns home at 3pm.

This loan will be used to build a wall around their home's property. The loan will help Doris purchase the construction materials and pay for the labor. The wall will provide them with better security and peace of mind as no one will have direct access to their home.

Doris has many dreams, one of which is to be able to leave her children with a place to live. She would also like to have a small store in her home. In addition, she would like to purchase a mill for her son so he can have his own business. She will use the earnings from her business to pay off the loan and invest it back into the business, so she can always have an active source of employment.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Roberto Henry.

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details