A loan of $1,200 helped buying a motorbike and pigs.

Catherine Nsoh's story

Born in 1979, Catherine is a single mother of 3, foster mother of 8 (from her two late sisters), and grandmother of one. Tortured by the deaths of her two sisters within one year and by thoughts of how she prematurely dropped out of school, she is determined to be there for ALL her children.

Since 1998 she has received various empowerment skills in training sessions organized by GHAPE and sister organizations. She succeeded as a mobile food vendor in providing her community with snacks (e.g., fresh groundnuts, sweet yams). Her major achievement has been the payment of tuition for some of her children from her profits. Her goal is to provide education for her children. Building a house in her lifetime for herself and her children is what will make her very happy.

Given a loan of $1200, Catherine plans to diversify her business by buying a motorbike to provide taxi services to the population of Mulang and Ntagkah, which is less accessible by regular urban taxis due to the bad roads. Part of her loan will be used to enlarge her piggery, and she intends to continue with her mobile restaurant. She anticipates repaying her loan with income from her transportation business, paying fees with income from the piggery, and meeting day-to-day needs with income from her mobile restaurant activity.

She plans to pay off her loan in 24 months. The first installment shall be due on the fourth month from the date of disbursement of loan.

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details