A loan of $625 helped to buy a heifer.

Kulushay's story

Kulushay is 58 years old and she is retired. She is married and has raised three children with her husband. All of her children live on their own, and one grandson lives with her. Kulushay has a high school education and her outlook on life is optimistic. She knows exactly what she wants and she goes after it with all her strength. She knows how to use and budget money to reach her goals.

As the main source of income for her family, Kulushay works raising livestock. She started this business 23 years ago with the purchase of livestock for 10,000 som KGS. Thanks to her hard work, she now has two dairy cows, three calves and 14 sheep. She has everything she needs to keep the animals, including a barn and a pasture for roaming. Her dairy cows spend all year on the farm and Kulushay looks after them herself, and the sheep are tended by a shepherd from March to October while they roam in the pasture. She has enough hay and feed to provide for the animals. Her monthly income is 7,000 som (KGS).

With the goal of developing her business further, Kulushay has turned to the microfinance bank "Bai-Tushum and Partners" for a loan to buy calves so she can increase her head of livestock. She plans to use the money from the loan to further increase her head of livestock, as well as to save up money to finish some building work in progress on her home.

Translated from Russian by Kiva volunteer

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details