A loan of $1,000 helped to buy cattle.

Reina Concepción's story

Reina is 27, only studied up to 3rd grade because her parents didn't give her the opportunity to continue studying, they told her that studying was useful for absolutely nothing, she admits this was a reason for not getting ahead. She is currently with someone, her husband is a construction worker and a farmer. Her oldest son goes to school and is in the 3rd grade. Only the four of them live at home, her, her husband and their two children ages 10 and 4 respectively.

Reina sells fruits and vegetables, she has 7 years of experience in this activity, she learned this activity from her aunt, who taught her how to shop for them and how to price the product to sell. She leaves her house at 5:30 in the morning, goes to the neighborhoods close by to sell her fruits and vegetables, she finishes her day around noon. In addition, Reina is also a farmer and grows 7,000 square meters of corn and sorghum with the help of her husband.

The loan will be used to buy cattle, she currently has two heads of cattle; but she would like to buy a dairy cow, thus the loan will be invested in buying cattle.

Reina's dream is to have more cattle, and to build a wall around her house because it is located close to a cliff and puts her and her family's life at risk. Also, Reina is a person with much desire to improve and a clear example of this is that she's currently studying 6th grade during the weekends and hopes to finish elementary school.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Sofia Burt

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details