A loan of $450 helped to make a payment to his suppliers.


Jaime's story

Jaime, 29, is a young man who completed ninth grade. He has a spouse and his wife also works growing vegetables. His son lives at home and is currently in nursing school. In addition to his wife and son one of Jaime’s brothers also lives with them.

Jaime works growing basic grains (corn and beans). He’s been in this activity 16 years having learned from his parents who were always interested in his learning. Ever since he was little he’d go out to the fields where his father worked. He decided to go into the same line of work because when he married he had no other option but to grow basic grains in order to obtain food for him and his family.

An institution has recently arrived in his community that’s helping them with technical assistance to grow vegetables which is another economic activity he has. The place he works is about 500 meters from home and he gets there on foot; his wife helps him with the work which generally goes from six in the morning to two in the afternoon.

The loan he’s asking for is to make a co-payment to the institution that’s making available some of the materials needed for the vegetable planting. It will make it possible for him to make the entire payment the institution is requiring and he will be able to have the benefit of the materials and be able to plant more vegetables to get a higher crop yield.

His plan is to continue working with the foundation to continue getting its support and to get a larger amount to expand the area he works installing an irrigation system to improve production. He also intends to see that his daughter attains an academic level that will allow her to live in better conditions than the ones he was able to have.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Polliz



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details