A loan of $1,000 helped to expand and improve her place and to buy supplies for making food.

Flor De María's story

Flor is a 20 year old young woman. She went to school up to the seventh grade. She was not able to continue her education because of her family’s financial situation, which obliged her to have to work since she was pretty young. However, she wants to take up her studies once again. Therefore, she wants her business to generate profits for her that will allow her to be able to work and go to school at the same time.

She has had a business selling pupusas [stuffed griddle corn cakes] for three years. This has helped her and her family to have a source of income. She learned this trade from her mother. Her business is in her house, where she has to pay rent every month. A cousin helps her in the business. Flor works every day. She gets up at 5:30 a.m., and she finishes her work at 7:00 p.m. Her mother is a domestic employee.

She needs the loan to expand and improve her place and to buy other types of supplies. This will allow her to not only sell pupusas, but to sell other types of food with which she will be able to generate better income.

Flor’s intention is to be able to continue her education. This is because she realizes that if she does not do this, it will be difficult to find better opportunities in the future and that life gets harder and harder. However, with her eatery she hopes to be able to meet her objective by working hard and saving. She knows that she will be able to do it.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ginny Kalish

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details