A loan of $1,500 helped to buy a kitchen to make pupusas, tables, chairs and adapting the place she wants to rent in the center of the city.

Alba Estela's story

Alba is 38 years old. She lives with her children: 16 year old twins, one male, one female who study in Grade 9 and a 10 year old son who is in 4th grade. They live in their own house that they inherited, her from her husband, the children from their father.

Alba has been selling pupusas from the garage of her house on Saturday and Sunday for ten years now. She started it as a way to help her husband financially. She also sells soft drinks, natural drinks, and frozen products like charamuscas (like a frozen smoothie), snow cones and chocolate bananas. She learned how to make these products as an employee when she was 20 years old.

Alba will invest the loan to buy a kitchen to make pupusas, tables, chairs and to adapt the space she wants to rent in the city center. With the passing of her husband, the family's income has fallen. They get $86 monthly as a pension and they need to generate more money given that their expenses are the same as before and might increase as the children advance in school.

Improving the condition of her work environment, she hopes to enjoy greater opportunities for sales and this would bring greater business profits. She hopes to improve their standard of living. She wants to establish her business in the city center, trying very hard to support her children in their studies.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer leonardo

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details