A loan of $800 helped to buy wood and tiles.

Jobito De Jesús's story

Jobito, age 40, has three children, ages 13, 11, and 10. He has been married since he was 27. His children attend elementary school in the community. His wife does the household chores.

Jobito only went to first grade in the community. His parents did not support his education any longer, but rather sent him to work in the area where there are corn and bean crops. He did various jobs in order to help support the family.

He currently makes furniture (tables, chairs, and toy boxes, etc.). He also makes doors and windows and does other types of carpentry work. His stepfather taught him this work when he was 17 years old. He has also worked in agriculture since he was little.

He works hard on his carpentry. It is a field that he manages very well. Even though he does not have a high-tech set of equipment, he does very well in the area.

Also, he has worked at planting corn and beans since he was very little. He also raises small animals like chickens and pigs on a small scale. Jobito works every day of the week at his house. If they seek him out to do jobs outside of the community, he also does that.

The loan that he is requesting from the Fundación Campo is to buy wood and tile. He needs to make some changes to the house because the wood that he has is in bad condition. He needs to improve it in order to have a more secure home. There is a risk that it will break, and an accident could occur.

He has already ordered the wood, and it will cost him approximately $500.00. He also estimated that the labor will cost $200.00. He needs the rest for household expenses.

Jobito dreams of expanding his business and of buying more high-tech equipment (a table planer). He states that he is totally prepared to support his children’s education so that they are able to become professionals in the future.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ginny Kalish

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details