Funded

Total loan: $1,600
Powered by 59 lenders

Oscar Daniel

El Salvador
Usulután, El Salvador / General Store

A loan of $1,600 helped to build walls where his wife has set up her store.


Oscar Daniel's story

Oscar is 35 years old. With much effort, his parents were able to give him an education with a technical degree. Later he had to work on his own i agriculture and other daily activities that helped him bring in income for his family. His wife has a small store in their house and with it she helps pay for the family expenses. His two children are in primary school and another is in eighth grade.

Oscar has a little jewelry store with a relative in the city. With a lot of hard work and perseverance, he was able to open it. He learned this activity about 10 years ago. A friend who did this activity taught him and he had to pay to learn the profession. In addition, when he has little work he works as a bricklayer, since his father taught him that activity. Weekends he is a collector for a bus that goes through the communities close to where he lives. Every day he goes out very early to his little workshop in the city 4 kilometers from his house and he comes back in the afternoon. When he has a lot of work he takes it home and has to stay up all night so he can get out on time with the orders.

The money from the loan will be used to t build walls on his wife's store. Right now, she just takes out some of the merchandise and leaves the rest inside the house because he space where she has the store is very small.

He hopes that in the future he can expand his little jewelry store, setting up another store somewhere else to help with the family income. He hopes to give his children an education, if possible, a college education.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue



Loan details

Loan length:

38 months
Disbursed date: October 7, 2013

Lenders and lending teams




Loan details

Loan length:

38 months
Disbursed date: October 7, 2013