Funded

Total loan: $750
Powered by 27 lenders

Laura Del Rosario

Ecuador
Latacunga, Ecuador / Poultry

A loan of $750 helped to buy feed for her chickens.


Laura Del Rosario's story

Laura is 39 years old and was born in the city of Latacunga, in the province of Cotopaxi, which is known in Ecuador for its hardworking people. She is divorced and has two children (Alexander, 16, and Kevin, 9) that live with her in a house her ex-husband left her. The biggest challenge she has had to face was the divorce, since her husband was who covered the home expenses. She then had to look for a job, which was difficult at the beginning because it was difficult to find someone to take care of her children. Laura started working with one of her sisters, raising chickens.

Laura has given her children unconditional support, since their father has not supported them for a long time. Laura works today raising and selling chickens, which she keeps in small pens. She learned this activity from her sister, who has been helping her for a while now. Besides poultry, she also sells beauty products on a catalog. The most difficult part for her is to find transport for her chickens; she spends a lot of money in transport.

Her dream and wish is to give her children a good education and a better quality of life, so that they can have everything they need in the future. She needs this loan to buy animal feed in order to fulfill her orders. Laura and her children would like to extend their sincere appreciation and want to congratulate Fundación Alternativa in Ecuador and Kiva for making her professional and personal growth a reality.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Santiago Mejía Dugand



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Disbursed date: October 8, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Fundacion Alternativa

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

14 months
Disbursed date: October 8, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Fundacion Alternativa