Funded

Total loan: $725
Powered by 15 lenders

Margarita


A loan of $725 helped to purchase tires and spare parts for her taxi and to purchase a washing machine.


Margarita's story

Margarita, 38, is a single mother with three children aged 20, 14, and 13 who all live together with her parents. Margarita's work is renting out a taxicab. She has a vehicle she bought many years ago. Each day, a driver arrives at her house and is responsible for a route through the main streets of the city. She receives a small amount from renting her car everyday that helps to cover some needs in her home. She has carried out this activity for 8 years, since she was able to purchase a taxi in the public service after much effort and a constant struggle in her previous job. Her previous job was sewing which she had to stop performing because of health reasons. Currently, she sees the possibility of entering the laundry business because she believes it is a very profitable job. In the area where she lives, there are people who have high-pressure jobs who do not have time to do their laundry and have requested this service. She is waiting to buy a washing machine in the near future. For the moment, she likes to rent her taxi because it allows her to spend her free time caring for her children and perform other jobs to eventually improve her family's income and improve their standard of living. Now she feels at peace regarding all that she is pursuing and hopes in the future to consolidate a formal company in both jobs that she undertakes. This is her 6th loan with Kiva and she is very happy to know she has financial support that allows her to continue with her work. With the amount requested of 2,000 soles, she will change a few tires in her cab and buy some parts it needs for proper functioning as well as invest in the purchase of a washer to engage in this business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Megan Hinrichsen


Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: September 27, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

8 months
Disbursed date: September 27, 2013
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma