A loan of $700 helped to buy fertilizers and to pay for workforce to harvest corn and sow beans.

Jose Ambrosio's story

José is 50 years old, in a relationship, and has two children. One of them lives in their house together with a partner. The other lives abroad. José was only able to study until third grade due to lack of economic resources, and because the only school that he could attend was too far away.

He has been working in agriculture for 18 years, he learnt everything he knows from his parents who were coffee producers. He also worked making bricks, but when he realized that he would earn more in agriculture he decided to become a farmer. His partner works with poultry for laying and fattening, contributing in that way to the family's income. José works seven hours a day with his cultivations, he walks half a kilometer to reach the place. He also takes care of a friend's house for which he receives 50 USD every two weeks.

He will use the loan to buy fertilizers for the beans that he will cultivate. He will also pay for workforce to harvest corn. José plans to repair the fence around his piece of land and then buy livestock, thus obtaining more income. He says that he wants to use the profit from selling grains to help his wife improve the chicken pens where she keeps her poultry, in order to prevent them from getting wet since this causes them to feel stressed, which leads to low yields and thus low profitability.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Isabel Valencia

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details