Funded

Total loan: $1,425
Powered by 49 lenders

Fanny Mairena

Honduras
taulabe, Honduras / Animal Sales

A loan of $1,425 helped to buy farm animals to produce dairy products.


Fanny Mairena's story

Fanny is 37 years old and married. She completed high school, having mainly studied sciences and literature and languages. Fanny is a mother to three children, the eldest of whom is at university, while the younger two are in high school. Fanny has been a farmer and cattle raiser for seven years. Her parents did the same work, and working the field and raising cattle is a family tradition. It has also been the family's only income that they use to strengthen the family finances. Fanny owns the land where she works and keeps her cows. It is 30 minutes from her house, and can be arrived at on foot. The only ones who work on the land are Fanny and her family. They work as a team and divide the work amongst themselves - some look after the cattle while Fanny and her husband take care of the coffee crops.

Fanny's dream is to have a ranch, have quality farm animals, and be one of the biggest importers in the country. As a mother, Fanny dreams of seeing her children become professionals, with university degrees that help with development. She wants them to be able to do any work that they want. Fanny is applying for a loan in order to make her dream a reality and buy farm animals and to improve her pasture. With more animals, she can produce dairy products and improve the household's financial situation.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Iain Gaw



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: September 13, 2013

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: September 13, 2013