Funded

Total loan: $800
Powered by 25 lenders

José Antonio

El Salvador
Osicala, El Salvador / Food Production/Sales

A loan of $800 helped to buy supplies.


José Antonio's story

Jose is 28 years old and studied to the sixth grade. He is single, but separated and has an eight year old son who attends second grade. He lives with his mother who separated from his father.

He sells hamburgers, cheese bread, fried potatoes with cheese, and sodas. He has been doing this for 10 years and it’s the most viable source of income that he has been able to find to date. He learned this on his own because he has been interested in being a businessman since he was young. He goes out to sell his products on foot to his neighbors in the area. His mother helps him prepare his sales. He generally goes out to sell in the evenings and on Sundays he works in the sports arena until the games are over.

He will use the money from this loan to buy three cases of soda, five pounds of hamburger meat, two bushels of potatoes, 10 bags of hamburger buns, and pay off a loan to another institution. Without this loan, it will not be possible to buy everything at once, in quantity, which will help him cover other needs in her home.

He has planned to expand little by little, improve his income, and build a kitchen in his home. The current one is mud with a metal roof and it’s not very good. He also wants to set the floor so that he and his family can be more comfortable. He will do all this while being careful about his income, that is to invest it where he really needs to.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Hugo Reyes



Loan details

Loan length:

20 months
Disbursed date: September 10, 2013

Lenders and lending teams




Loan details

Loan length:

20 months
Disbursed date: September 10, 2013