A loan of $1,000 helped to buy fertilizer to plant 3500 square meters of corn and 3500 of beans and three pigs to raise and fatten, and also to pay some household expenses.


Petrona's story

Petrona is 65 years old. She is the mother of 6 daughters and a son. She lives in the community where her parents raised her. She comes from a family of 5 siblings (2 brothers and 3 sisters), who now have their own families. For reasons of life, she did not go to school, since her parents told her that her schooling was work in agriculture. Thus she grew up in this environment, planting corn, beans, and sorghum, and also raising pigs.

She married at the age of 17, and from this relation she had 6 daughters, who now have their own households. She lives alone in the community. Five daughters live near her home, and the oldest lives in Guatemala. Her husband died about 25 years ago. The only son that she had died in the war that the country suffered in the 80s.

She previously went to Guatemala, since there her daughter has a little farm where she fattens chickens, where she learned this work, and she also does this in the community, although on a smaller scale. She also learned to raise and manage pigs together with her daughter.

To acquire the supplies for the pigs, the chickens, and the crops, she goes to the nearest city, which is 40 minutes from her house. To take the bus, she has to walk along paths to arrive at the road.

She doesn't have any fixed schedule to do her work, since she needs to be attentive at every moment (to raise pigs and fatten chickens). When she buys the supplies for the farm and raising beans, as well as when she buys concentrate for the chickens and the pigs, she is accompanied by one of her daughters.

The loan that she is applying for is to buy fertilizers for planting 3500 square meters of corn and another 3500 of beans, and three pigs to raise and fatten. She will invest the rest in various household expenses.

With that she intends to assure her food supply and obtain economic income to improve her quality of life. She dreams of building an adobe house, since her present house is of wattle and daub.

With the loan she intends to obtain better economic income for herself and to help her daughters, who are always attentive to her.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Pam McMurry



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details