A loan of $725 helped to buy ingredients and supplies like rice, oregano, eggs, fish, and other products.

Diana's story

Diana, who is 40 years old, is married to Dedmer, who is 49 years old. He is the father of their two dependent children, who live with them in the house that they own.

Diana earns her living selling regional foods. Every morning, she sets up her table in front of her parents' house and sells all the dishes that she has carefully prepared. She also sells various cold drinks made with local fruits. She serves her customers very courteously; the majority of them are her own neighbors. They recommend her to other people who then, with time, become regular customers. She began three years ago, initially selling very little, but with the passage of time she has gradually increased the quantity of servings in accordance with customer demand. So far, she has worked alone with the occasional help of her sister. She says that she likes her work because she has always been passionate about the culinary arts; after seeing the money she was earning, she felt no hesitation about establishing this business and generating her own source of employment.

At this time, she is requesting 2,000 PEN. She is vary happy to know that she will have financial support, because now she feels sure of being able to continue to run her business. With the requested amount, she will buy ingredients and supplies like rice, oregano, eggs, fish, and other products that she uses to prepare her regional dishes.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Holly Torpey

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details