A loan of $7,175 helped to pay for college registration.


Erick's story

Erick is a young man who wants to study advertising. He is asking for a loan to be able to pay for his education. This is his story: Hello, my name is Erick. I am 18 years old. I am from Santo Domingo, Domincan Republic. I live with my parents and my 2 siblings. I was born in a very humble place with a lot of needs, and that has made my going to college difficult. Unfortunately, my parents' wages aren't enough to make my dream come true, which is to get a college degree. There is barely enough to pay for daily expenses and having my siblings in this situation worsens the situation. My dream is to study Advertising at Universidad Apec, since I have aptitude for this major. My parents make minimum wage and can't pay for my education. Then I found out about the Kiva-Fundapec program and there was hope for me to achieve what I dream of so much and get a college degree and contribute my knowledge to society and help others the way you all all helping me and thousand of young people who don't have the resources to be able to go to school. Having this support will be a relief for me and above all for my parents, who don't have the money for any of their children to goo to school. With this financial support, I can contribute to my family what they need right now for my siblings and be useful to society.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details