Funded

Total loan: $7,175
Powered by 269 lenders

Maria Del Mar

Dominican Republic
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic / Higher education costs

A loan of $7,175 helped to pay university tuition fees.


Maria Del Mar's story

María Del Mar is a young woman who wants to study Publicity. She’s requesting a loan to be able to carry out her studies. This is her story:

My name is María Del Mar. I’m 17-years-old and I live in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, the place where I was born and where I happily grew up alongside my father who is a cabinetmaker, my mother who is employed and a younger brother.

I’ve decided that I want to attend APEC University in Santo Domingo which is renowned for the great quality of the career I’ve chosen: Publicity. I want to study publicity because it’s a career I’m passionate about and the one I want to exploit my skills 100% in. It’s something that inspires me and that I know I can do with effort giving my best to others and to society. I plan to start my courses, God willing, in August of this very year.

At home it’s barely enough to support the family which is why we need help because we don’t have the resources needed to pay for my studies and this is why we are requesting this loan. Getting it would mean the opportunity to study and grow as a person and reach one of my goals of becoming a professional to thus also help people in need like I am at the moment.

My goals are to work practicing my profession in such a way that I can support myself independently, to contribute to my country and to help my family with any need and to get to know different cultures and to have a family of my own at the proper time in my life.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Polliz



Loan details

Loan length:

133 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: September 9, 2013

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

133 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: September 9, 2013