A loan of $1,100 helped to buy grazing cattle.

José Benjamín's story

José is 22 years old and grew up with his parents. His mum worked as a domestic help and his dad works as a construction foreman, in agricultural work and as a dairyman. This is how José learnt bricklaying and milk processing, specialising in "quesillo" [soft cheese]. He also has a little experience in fattening cattle.

In general José works in his community and its outskirts, from 7am until 4pm. When he was working as a bricklayer with his dad 7 years ago, he met the girl who is now his life partner and he moved out of his home to live with her. His partner just does housework in her own house and they have an 8-month old baby girl.

José only studied basic education before he met his partner and after that he was not able to carry on with his schooling. He now works independently as a bricklayer.

The requested loan is to buy grazing cattle, since José already has a piece of land which he is renting for grazing cattle near to the house he lives in. This may become something which gives him some additional income for himself and his family in the short term. For this he says he will work a bit harder and get up earlier to take the cattle to the pasture before going to work, bringing them back to the pen in the afternoon and giving them water. At the moment he only has one heifer and he pays the same amount for renting the land.

He hopes to use the loan to provide an extra work opportunity which will give him profits in the short term. His aim is to get himself a house because he has been living with his mother-in-law since meeting his partner and he wants to become independent. He wants his daughter to grow up in a home of her own and go to school when she is old enough.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Judith McInally

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details