Funded

Total loan: $3,725
Powered by 113 lenders

Keyla

Dominican Republic
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic / Higher education costs

A loan of $3,725 helped to pay for registration fees, books, and transportation.


Keyla's story

Keyla is a young Industrial Psychology student. She is requesting an education loan to be able to cover the costs of her registration fees, books, and transportation.

My name is Keyla. I am 20 years old and I live in Santo Domingo Este in the Dominican Republic. I am single and I do not have children. Right now I work in an education center as a secretary. I live with my mother and two of my siblings; I'm the youngest.

I want to study Industrial Psychology because I like it and it's a good fit for me. I have goals outlined, like becoming a professional, securing a better quality of life, having my own home, helping my parents to have a peaceful old age, and making sure that my future children have a better quality of life than the one that I have had, among others. Unfortunately, I do not have sufficient resources. Where I work, the pay is really low and it's not enough for my expenses. I don't have any financial support from my parents due to their own financial situation. My mother works as a nanny for a family and my father isn't working right now.

I need to participate in this amazing Kiva program because without it, it would be really hard for me to study or I would have to wait until I was in a better financial situation. I want to start studying as soon as possible because it has already been three years since I graduated from high school and I haven't been able to get started due to a lack of resources.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Monica Wooters



Loan details

Loan length:

101 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: September 5, 2013

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

101 months
Repayment schedule: Irregularly
Disbursed date: September 5, 2013