A loan of $700 helped purchase cattle.


Ana Mercedes's story

Ana is 41 years old, she has a partner and two daughters who are 4 and 10 years old. She learned her butchering skills because she she needed to earn money for her family, since her partner's income as a day laborer were not enough to cover household expenses. Since her partner got at least one day off of work, they took advantage of this day and dedicated it to developing butchering skills. She has been doing this every 15 days and thanks to God she has been able to generate additional income for her family.

They buy animals to butcher from their local community, most of the time from local producers and other times she goes to the livestock plazas in the city, but this costs her extra money because she has to pay for transportation so that she can get the animals back to her house.

The loan she is asking for from Fundacion Campo is to pay the balance with another institution and the rest she will use to purchase livestock for her butcher shop because a good opportunity has presented itself to her. Many of her customers are asking her for her cuts of meat and other cuts that she doesn't have as often because it is difficult to purchase a cow because it is much more expensive than a pig.

With this investment, her business will grow, and there will surely be more work but by making smart purchases she will be able to earn higher profits and to generate a higher income that will help her to guarantee economic stability for her family. It will also guarantee the satisfaction and retention of her customers and that she is able to live in a different way. Today, their current income doesn't allow them to purchase even enough of the basic necessities for herself and her two daughters and her older daughter is going to school now and has school costs, and the younger daughter will also have school costs soon and they want her to go to school.

In the future, they hope that their business continues to improve and they can do it more than every 15 days, but rather, once a week so that their daughters can study and continue to get ahead in life and to have a professional career, as well as make improvements to her house because they would like a house made of brick but currently it is made of laminate.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Kristin Connor



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details