A loan of $750 helped for maintenance on his car and to purchase spare parts.


Edgar's story

Edgar, 29, is single but has a young daughter of only 2 years. He currently lives in a house he rents and works a lot every day to improve his financial situation and to be able to give his daughter a better quality of life. He earns his living providing local urban transportation services to customers into and out of the city. He's been in this line of work for 13 years using a taxi he rents from his friend. He travels the city streets from end to end in search of clients who want to be taken safe and sound to their destinations. But thanks to his cheerful attitude and the fact that he's a good conversationalist he also has fixed clients who hire him for all manner of situations and eventualities.

Edgar also sells vehicle spare parts and accessories including tires, bearings and other parts. He sells parts on hand or by personal orders from some friends and clients. He's made profits from his businesses, and by developing both of them he hopes to establish himself in the transportation sector. This will be his fourth Kiva loan and he's very pleased to know that he has the financial support he needs to succeed in his businesses.

Edgar will invest the 2000 soles he's seeking to maintain his taxi and buy spare parts, tires, bearings, axles, sockets, shock absorbers and other parts to keep up his sales business.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Jill Heske


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details