A loan of $575 helped to purchase products like plantains, oranges, and tangerines, among others.

Jessi's story

Jessi is 34 years old; she is a good and friendly woman. She is married to Marcial, and together with him, she has 3 children ages 16, 9, and 3 years respectively. She has her own house; however, at this time, she lives in her mother-in-law’s house.

Jessi works selling native fruits and vegetables, such as plantains, yucca, cocona fruit, lemons, and others. She sells each product in greater quantities depending on its production season, since some of them are in short supply in certain months, or in the opposite case, they are plentiful.

She has a sales stall in one of the main markets in the city. She has been doing this work for 5 years, and she has been doing it by herself since she started. In addition, she really enjoys her work because she feels free and independent. At the same time, it’s going very well for her, and this helps her to feel calmer.

Her main goal is to expand her business and to begin making sales in other cities. She says that in this way, her economic earnings will increase considerably.

With this opportunity, she is requesting 1500 soles; she feels grateful for the financial support that she has been offered to continue with her business and in this way reach all of her goals. With the requested loan, she will purchase a greater quantity of plantains, tangerines, and oranges in order to continue working.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Caroline Hedel

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details