A loan of $1,325 helped to buy manure, fertilizers and other inputs for her coffee crops.


Gregoria's story

Gregoria is 33 years old, lives with her partner, and has two children who work and help their parents with their different tasks in the fields. Gregoria did not complete her primary education, studying only up to her fourth year. She could not continue her studies because her parents were poor and their income was spent on food, clothing and medicine, with many restrictions. Gregoria is not only a farmer but also a saleswoman as she has a small convenience store that she runs in order to help her partner with their household expenses. Before she started that business the couple occasionally found themselves in a tight spot as the income they made from farming was not much. Gregoria's crops are located some 2 kilometers from her home. Sometimes she travels there by vehicle and sometimes on foot owing to the high cost of fuel.

Gregoria currently needs help to buy manure, fertilizers and other inputs that will help to strengthen her coffee crops and ensure she enjoys a safe and clean harvest.

Gregoria's goal is to improve her coffee crops as they are a great help to her family when she enjoys an excellent harvest such as the one she is currently growing and producing. Gregoria's dream is to further expand her plantings so that her children can work independently and grow a greater variety of crops because they will inherit the land that they are currently working.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Linda Oxnard



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details