A loan of $1,125 helped to buy ingredients like rice, meats, seasonings, and oil, as well as pots and utensils.

Marlene's story

Marlene, who is 64 years old, is married to Jorge. From their marriage, they have six children who are already grown up and independent. She lives in her own house along with five of her children. She gives the majority of her attention to her youngest daughter, who is 16 years old; the rest generate their own income.

Marlene's work consists of selling food. She sets up her tables and chairs on her house's sidewalk, where she offers a great variety of regional dishes for sale. She has been running this business for two years, and she works with the help of her children, who provide her with the support she needs for everything to go well. On occasion, she makes different desserts like cakes, gelatins, and others, which she sells in a park near her house. She likes her work very much because she is always in contact with people, she has fun, she relaxes, and above all, she makes an income for her household. That way, she is able to give her youngest daughter what she needs. Sometimes, she delivers orders to houses and she always has customers requesting her delicious meals. It is going well, and she hopes to establish a restaurant in the future, as she has high hopes for her business.

At this time, she is requesting 3,000 nuevos soles [PEN]. She is grateful and happy to know that she continues to have the financial support she needs to make progress in her business. With the amount requested, she will buy ingredients and supplies like rice, meats, seasonings, oil, and vegetables to continue with the preparation of her delicious dishes; she will also purchase pots and other utensils that need to be replaced.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Holly Torpey

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details